Andy Polay’s Jazz Newsletter April 2013

Hi Folks,
 Here’s copy from my newsletter. For those who haven’t signed up for it yet, I hope you will. Please link to the web site (www.andypolaymusic.com). There, you can also see schedules, video, pictures, and more.
 I hope to see you at the Quiet Man in Peekskill this Sunday, 4/14. Great comfort food and great, comfortable music as I play with 2 wonderful musicians,  John Castleman on multi horns and Mark Tonelli on guitar.
 The Quiet Man is located at 15 North Division St. in Peekskill, NY. For dinner reservations, call 914- 930 – 8230.
Thanks!
Andy

From: andy@andypolaymusic.com Sent: 4/8/2013 2:03:28 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time Subj: Andy Polay’s Jazz Newsletter

Andy Polay

 

Hello Friends,

It’s been a while since my last newsletter and I hope this finds you all well, and ready for some beautiful weather (here on the East Coast, Spring is finally trying to get going as the temp’s are slowly but surely climbing).

There has been a lot of news since the last time I wrote. By now it is well chronicled that the great Rahn Burton passed away. I saw him last when he hired me to join his Quartet at Cleopatra’s Needle in NYC. That night was great and a few months later, I got the phone call. Please visit my web site to see pictures and watch video of concert footage. Another bridge to Jazz past is gone, but as I say, along the way, he helped teach me to swim in the deep waters. We played together on a regular basis from 2008 to 2012 and I will miss him.

Also along the way, I was able to do a benefit to help Victims of both Hurricane Sandy and the Sandy Hook school. I called it “Help 2Sandy’s” and while the project took about 2 months to pull together, I was fortunate to collaborate with a great team and a lot of wonderful musicians who helped put on an 8 hour event! We made several thousand dollars in the process and formed a great communal bond as a byproduct!

Now, let’s get back to playing! After a rest, I have now posted 3 new shows on the web site calendar- all with different flavors and variety of instrumentation and attitude …

On April 14th, I am pleased to return to The Quiet Man Pub in Peekskill, NY. I’ll be back together in Trio with the wonderful John Castleman on multi horns and Mark Tonelli on guitar. Come for dinner and stay later as we continue Jazz for your dessert and sipping pleasure.

On April 18th, Michael Purcell teams up with me as he brings his great keyboard works to Thyme restaurant in Yorktown Heights, NY. We’ll serve up Jazz standards and more with your dinner and later as we play an interesting set of keyboard and drum duo.

On June 8, I look forward to returning to Kathleen’s Tea Room in Peekskill, NY. On that evening, I’ll have a trio playing a hot mix of contemporary and standard Jazz. Players TBA, so stay tuned!

Reservations are suggested for these engagements. For information and directions on all gigs, please visit the web site. As always, I appreciate your support and look forward to seeing my friends- both old and as yet, not met!

 

 

Thanks,

Andy

www.andypolaymusic.com

914- 424- 1405

Bazzo 04/11/13

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

