Kurly Writes in Sun Sentinel: Prepared by South Florida living for Hurricane Sandy

Kurly’s Kommentary!
“Bringing common sense back to political commentary”
sun sentinel real logo

Steven Kurlander: Prepared by South Florida living for Hurricane Sandy

Published in The Sun Sentinel on 11/01/2012

 

 

 

“Riding out the storm in a shaking house, that hurricane angst returned.  I particularly worried whether my roof would stay put, whether newly installed windows were endure the violent gusts of wind, or whether the huge oak tree next to my daughter’s room shaking like a buoy in the wind would land up crashing and destroying my home-and my new life.”

 

 

In or Near Mortgage Foreclosure?
We Can Help!
1-877-385-7793
(Attorney Advertising –  Prior results do not  guarantee a similar outcome)

by Steven Kurlander

 

Having moved back to New York about a month ago, I thought I had left behind all the hurricane angst I had become too accustomed to living in South Florida.

 

There was going to be no hurricane seasons in my life anymore.  No more tracking storms as they left the deserts of sub Sahara and crossed the Atlantic and Caribbean to see whether they would hit or miss the Florida peninsula. No more stocking up on canned goods, batteries, and gasoline starting July 1 and no more hurricane safe rooms. No more having to endure that hurricane anxiety when those NOAA cones of hurricanes assigned human names estimate the storm track to hit where my family lives.

 

So while I was packing up the garage, I was tempted to sell both the generators I had bought after enduring three hurricanes in a row in 2005 and forego the expense of moving the heavy generators and all the accumulated hurricane supplies.

 

But something told me to pack them on the POD and take them to my new home in upstate New York. Continue Reading | Contact Kurly

 

 

Huffington Post Kurly’s Latest Blog in the Huffington Post: Obama Hasn’t Earned Support of Jewish Vote

 

 

Join the Debate: Is President Obama really an avid supporter of Israel?

 

 

sun sentinel real logo

See The Sun Sentinel’s Chan Lowe’s Latest Cartoon:  Private sector disaster relief?
Florida Voices
Latest Kurly Post in Florida Voices: Seven Observations about the Presidential Election
Cousin Casey Kurlander: 9 people you become when you’re drunk
border
Join Our Mailing List Like us on Facebook Follow us on TwitterView our profile on LinkedInFind us on Google+Visit our blog
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

